Tuesday, 13 May 2008 Finnish Embassy

7:00 p.m. **Opening Reception at the Finnish Embassy:** Opening comments from Pekka Lintu, the Ambassador of to Finland to the United States and Vera Alexander, President of ARCUS Board of Directors. Professor Paula

9:00 p.m. Kankaanpää, Director of the University of Lapland's Arctic Centre, will give a presentation on Arctic Research in

Finland.

Council Forum 2008
14 May 2008
National Association of Home Builders
Washington, DC
Final Agenda

The Council Meeting includes presentations from member institution representatives and sessions on various issues of interest to the research community and member institutions. The public is welcome.

Wednesday, 14 May 2008

National Association of Home Builders

8:00 a.m. Continental Breakfast

8:30 a.m. Welcome and Introductions

Vera Alexander, President, ARCUS Board of Directors

BUSINESS OF THE **C**ORPORATION

8:50 a.m. Approval of Council Minutes from Nineteenth Annual Meeting

William Manley, Secretary, ARCUS Board of Directors

Present Slate of Nominees and Call for Nominations from the Floor

Nominations from the floor

Peter Minnett, Chair, ARCUS Board Nominating Committee

Roll Call and Election of the Board of Directors (Action: Vote)

Wendy Warnick

ARCUS Executive Director

9:10 a.m. The Annual Report of the Corporation

Vera Alexander, President, ARCUS Board of Directors

Wendy Warnick, ARCUS Executive Director

9:40 a.m. BREAK

COUNCIL FORUM PROGRAM

10:00 a.m. Recognition of Student Scholarship Recipients

Craig Tweedie, ARCUS Board member

Arctic Research Activities at ARCUS Member Institutions:

Short 3–4 minute (2 slides) presentations from ARCUS member institutions on arctic research activities at their institutions.

- 1. University of Massachusetts | Nicholas Balascio
- 2. Texas A&M University | David M. Cairns
- 3. Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory | James R. Cochran
- 4. Marine Biological Laboratory | Linda Deegan
- 5. Arizona State University | Brian Eddie
- 6. Smithsonian Institution | William Fitzhugh
- 7. McGill University | William Fitzhugh (for Marianne Stenbaek)
- 8. University of Miami | Dennis A. Hansell
- 9. Woods Hole Research Center | Max Holmes
- 10. University of Lapland Arctic Centre | Paula Kankaanpää

- 11. University of Delaware | Fritz Nelson
- 12. Alaska's North Slope Borough Department of Wildlife Management | Michael Pederson
- 13. University of Greenland | Aage Rydstrøm-Poulsen
- 14. Sterling College | Pamela R. Stern
- 15. University of Colorado | Julienne C. Stroeve
- 16. University of Alaska Fairbanks | Susan Sugai
- 17. University of Alaska Anchorage | Bart Sveinbjornsson
- 18. Sandia National Laboratories | Bernard Zak

11:30 a.m. Roundtable: New Paradigms in Polar Research—Recommendations for Member Institution Actions to Overcome Obstacles to Interdisciplinary and International Research {abstract}

Moderator:

Vera Alexander President, ARCUS Board of Directors, and University of Alaska Fairbanks

Panaliete

Jenny Baeseman, Association of Early Career Polar Scientists (APECS) Lawson Brigham, U.S. Arctic Research Commission Bruce Forbes, Arctic Centre, University of Lapland Sean Topkok, Alaska Native Knowledge Network

12:30 p.m. Adjourn

12:30 p.m. Buffet Lunch Provided for Participants and Guests

1:30 p.m. Arctic Forum begins