2015 Arctic Observing Open Science Meeting
17-19 November 2015
Hyatt at Olive 8
Seattle, Washington

Thank you to all participants for making the AOOSM such a great meeting - Please visit our Products page for meeting summaries!

Overview and Goals

The Arctic Observing Open Science Meeting is focused on the science. The meeting goals are to:

  • Present and discuss scientific findings and advances resulting from Arctic observing projects;
  • Discuss operational and technological achievements of observing science projects and efforts funded through U.S. local, state, and federal agencies, and private and non-profit organizations;
  • Explore how well new observational achievements meet major science goals;
  • Identify opportunities for collaboration to develop high impact scientific synthesis products and papers; and
  • Strengthen the goals, identity, and activities of an integrated Arctic Observing System.

Core funding for the meeting has been awarded to ARCUS by NSF's Arctic Observing Network program.

For more information, contact Judy Fahnestock (judy [at] arcus.org).

Organizing Committee Members

Craig Lee
Craig Lee, Co-chair
University of Washington, Applied Physics Laboratory
craig [at] apl.washington.edu

Matthew Shupe
Matthew Shupe, Co-chair
Earth System Research Laboratory
Physical Sciences Division
matthew.shupe [at] noaa.gov

Cathy Wilson
Cathy Wilson, Co-chair
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Earth and Environmental Sciences
cjw [at] lanl.gov

Mia Bennett
Mia Bennett
University of California, Los Angeles
mbennett8 [at] gmail.com

Elizabeth Hoy
Elizabeth Hoy
Goddard Space Flight Center
Global Science and Technology, Inc.
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
elizabeth.hoy [at] nasa.gov

Ron Kwok
Ron Kwok
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
California Institute of Technology
ronald.kwok [at] jpl.nasa.gov

A. Michael Macrander
A. Michael Macrander
Shell Oil
a.macrander [at] shell.com

An T. Nguyen
An T. Nguyen
Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
atnguyen [at] mit.edu

David Payer
David Payer
Arctic Landscape Conservation Cooperative
david_payer [at] fws.gov

Ted Schuur
Ted Schuur
Northern Arizona University
Center for Ecosystem Science and Society
Ted.Schuur [at] nau.edu

Sandy Starkweather
Sandy Starkweather
NOAA Earth System Research Laboratory
Physical Science Division
Interagency Arctic Research Policy Committee
sandy.starkweather [at] noaa.gov

Leigh Stearns
Leigh Stearns
Department of Geology
University of Kansas
stearns [at] ku.edu

Helen Wiggins
Helen Wiggins
Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S. (ARCUS)
helen [at] arcus.org